- When and how is my project billed?
- How are prorations managed?
- Will I be charged after the trial?
- What is the difference between development and production plans?
- How do I change my project plan?
- How do I add more storage to my project?
- How do I add more environments to my project?
- How do I cancel my project?
- How can I change my billing details?
- What happens in case of payment failure?
- How can I change a project owner?
Table of Contents
Official prices are available on SymfonyCloud pricing page.
Your project is billed monthly based on the subscription creation date (when the project has been created) or based on the trial end.
Billing occurs at the beginning of each period, when the invoice is issued you are paying for the upcoming period. For example, if your project is created on July 2nd without trial, an invoice is issued for the selected plan for the period from July 2nd to August 2nd.
If you change your plan or addons during the billing period, prorations are going to be applied to your next invoice. If your project has important pending items, an intermediary invoice can be issued before the beginning of the next period.
SymfonyCloud relies on Stripe to compute prorations down to the second. Stripe computes the remaining time until the end of the current billing period, add a negative item to the invoice for the previous monthly amount prorated to the remaining time and add another item for the new monthly amount also prorated. The next invoice will include the billing for the upcoming billing period, plus the proration lines for the previous billing period.
Switching plan back and forth will generate several of these proration lines.
For example, upgrading from the development plan to the Standard production plan on the 31st for a project billing on the 2nd will generate the following invoice lines:
|SC_DEV||From July 31, 2020 to August 2, 2020||prorated||?10.00||-?0.70|
|SC_STANDARD||From July 31, 2020 to August 2, 2020||prorated||?50.00||?3.49|
|SC_STANDARD||From August 2, 2020 to September 2, 2020||1||?50.00||?50.00|
|Total before taxes||?52.79|
SymfonyCloud billing is opt-in based. You will be billed only if you explicitly
want to keep your project around after trial and accept billing using
project:billing:accept or if you move to a Production plan using
If you do not upscale your project or accept billing, you project will be automatically suspended at the end of your trial. If you do not pay in the days following its suspension, your project will be automatically deleted.
The development plan is intended to let you test and prepare your project before going live. You do not have dedicated resources and can not attach production domains to your main environment.
When a project is attached to a production plan, the Main environment runs on different hosts with dedicated resources and can serve traffic to custom production domain names.
To upscale your project one step up (from Standard to Medium for example), use
symfony project:scale. To downscale one step down, use
You can also scale directly to a specific plan using
plan with the plan name from SymfonyCloud pricing page).
Your subscription comes with 5GB of persistent storage per environment. Adding more storage is made per increment of 5GB and is billed per increment and per environment according to prices shown on SymfonyCloud pricing page.
Add more storage using
symfony project:edit storage X (replacing
the desired storage amount in Gigabytes).
Your subscription comes with 1 main and 3 non-production and active environments. You can add more non-production environments by increment of 3 billed per increment according to prices shown on SymfonyCloud pricing page.
Add more environments using
symfony project:edit environments X (replacing
X by the number of environments).
You can cancel your SymfonyCloud subscription at any time using
project:delete. You will be prompted if you want to delete your project
immediately or automatically at the end of your current billing period.
At the moment it is not possible to edit your billing details (name, address, country, etc) yourself. If you need to change them, please file a ticket at SymfonyCloud Support.
You can change your payment method information at any time using
Because SymfonyCloud hosts your (paid) projects and holds potentially important data, we do not cancel projects right away on payment failures.
In the eventuality that your project experiences a payment failure, we retry
charging your payment method several times over 10 days with an interval of 1 to
7 days between each attempt and notify you of the failure each time. If fixing
the failure requires you to change your payment method information please use
symfony project:billing:update-card command.
If payment is still failed after several tries, you project will be
automatically suspended. You can then manually retry payment and unsuspend your
project by using the
symfony project:billing:unsuspend command.
If payment is not recovered by the end of the latest billing period, your suscription will be cancelled and your project will be automatically deleted about 30 days after this cancellation. If you wish to recover your project during this grace period please contact SymfonyCloud Support.
Changing a project owner is possible but requires manual intervention from our staff, please contact us on SymfonyCloud Support.
If the current project data can be discarded, a simpler solution might be to create a new project. As such the procedure is as follows:
- Create a new project with the new owner account and note the created project
symfony project:create --no-link
- Invite the former project owner to the new project:
symfony -p <ID> user:add <email>
- Link the current working directory to the new project:
symfony link --force <ID>
- Deploy to the new project:
Don't forget to setup environment variables if required.
Don't forget to delete the former project once the migration is completed.