Acknowledgments

5.0 version
Maintained

Acknowledgments

I love books. Books that I can hold in hands.

The last time I wrote a book about Symfony was exactly 10 years ago. It was about Symfony 1.4. I have never written about Symfony since then!

I was so excited to write again about Symfony that I finished the first draft in a week. But the version you are reading took way more time. Writing a book takes a lot of time and energy. From the cover design to the page layout. From code tweaks to peer reviews. It is almost never finished. You can always improve a section, enhance some piece of code, fix some typos, or rewrite an explanation to make it shorter and better.

Writing a book is a journey that you don’t want to do alone. Many people contributed directly or indirectly. Thank you all!

I want to sincerely thank all the great people who spent a lot of time reviewing the content to spot typos and improve the content; some even helped me write some of the code snippets:

  • Javier Eguiluz
  • Ryan Weaver
  • Titouan Galopin
  • Nicolas Grekas
  • Kévin Dunglas
  • Tugdual Saunier
  • Grégoire Pineau
  • Alexandre Salomé

Translators

The official Symfony documentation is only available in English. We had some translations in the past but we decided to stop providing them as they were always out of sync. And outdated documentation is probably worse than no documentation at all.

The main issue with translations is maintenance. The Symfony documentation is updated every single day by dozens of contributors. Having a team of volunteers translating all changes in near real time is almost impossible.

However, translating a book like the one you are currently reading is more manageable as I tried to write about features that won’t change much over time. This is why the book contents should stay quite stable over time.

But why would we ever want non-English documentation in a tech world where English is the de facto default language? Symfony is used by developers everywhere in the world. And some of them are less comfortable reading English material. Translating some “getting started” documentation is part of the Symfony diversity initiative in which we strive to find ways to make Symfony as inclusive as possible.

As you can imagine, translating more than 300 pages is a huge amount of work, and I want to thank all the people who helped translating this book:

TRANSLATOR_LIST

Company Backers

This book has been backed by people around the world who helped this project financially. Thanks to them, this content is available online for free and available as a paper book during Symfony conferences.

Individual Backers

Javier Eguiluz @javiereguiluz
Tugdual Saunier @tucksaun
Alexandre Salomé https://alexandre.salome.fr
Timo Bakx
Arkadius Stefanski https://ar.kadi.us
Oskar Stark @OskarStark
slaubi  
Jérémy Romey
Nicolas Scolari  
Guys & Gals at SymfonyCasts https://symfonycasts.com
Roberto santana
Ismael Ambrosi
Mathias STRASSER https://roukmoute.github.io/
Platform.sh team http://www.platform.sh
ongoing https://www.ongoing.ch
Magnus Nordlander @magnusnordlander
Nicolas Séverin @nico-incubiq
Centarro https://www.centarro.io
Lior Chamla https://learn.web-develop.me
Art Hundiak @ahundiak
Manuel de Ruiter https://www.optiwise.nl/
Vincent Huck  
Jérôme Nadaud https://nadaud.io
Michael Piecko @mpiecko
Tobias Schilling https://tschilling.dev
ACSEO https://www.acseo.fr
Omines Internetbureau https://www.omines.nl/
Seamus Byrne http://seamusbyrne.com
Pavel Dubinin @geekdevs
Jean-Jacques PERUZZI https://linkedin.com/in/jjperuzzi
Alexandre Jardin @ajardin
Christian Ducrot http://ducrot.de
Alexandre HUON @Aleksanthaar
François Pluchino @francoispluchino
We Are Builders https://we.are.builders
Rector @rectorphp
Ilyas Salikhov
Romaric Drigon
Lukáš Moravec @morki
Malik Meyer-Heder @mehlichmeyer
Amrouche Hamza
Russell Flynn https://custard.no
Shrihari Pandit
Salma NK.
Nicolas Grekas  
Roman Ihoshyn https://ihoshyn.com
Radu Topala https://www.trisoft.ro
Andrey Reinwald https://www.facebook.com/andreinwald
JoliCode @JoliCode
Rokas Mikalkėnas  
Zeljko Mitic @strictify
Wojciech Kania @wkania
Andrea Cristaudo https://andrea.cristaudo.eu/
Adrien BRAULT-LESAGE @AdrienBrault
Cristoforo Stevio Cervino http://www.steviostudio.it
Michele Sangalli  
Florian Reiner http://florianreiner.com
Ion Bazan @IonBazan
Marisa Clardy
Donatas Lomsargis http://donatas.dev
Johnny Lattouf
Duilio Palacios https://styde.net
Pierre Grimaud @pgrimaud
Marcos Labad Díaz
Stephan Huber https://www.factorial.io
Loïc Vernet https://www.strangebuzz.com
Daniel Knoch http://www.cariba.de
Emagma http://www.emagma.fr
Gilles Doge  
Malte Wunsch @MalteWunsch
Jose Maria Valera Reales @Chemaclass
Cleverway https://cleverway.eu/
Nathan @nutama
Abdellah EL GHAILANI https://connect.symfony.com/profile/aelghailani
Solucionex https://www.solucionex.com
Elnéris Dang https://linkedin.com/in/elneris-dang/
Class Central https://www.classcentral.com/
Ike Borup https://idaho.dev/
Christoph Lühr https://www.christoph-luehr.com/
Zig Websoftware http://www.zig.nl
Dénes Fakan
Danny van Kooten http://dvk.co
Denis Azarov http://azarov.de
Martin Poirier T. https://linkedin.com/in/mpoiriert/
Dmytro Feshchenko @dmytrof
Carl Casbolt https://www.platinumtechsolutions.co.uk/
Irontec https://www.irontec.com
Lukas Plümper https://lukaspluemper.de/
Neil Nand https://neilnand.co.uk
Andreas Möller https://localheinz.com
Alexey Buldyk https://buldyk.pw
Page Carbajal https://pagecarbajal.com
Florian Voit https://rootsh3ll.de
Webmozarts GmbH https://webmozarts.com
Alexander M. Turek @derrabus
Zan Baldwin
Ben Marks, Magento http://bhmarks.com

Family Love

Family support is everything. A big thank-you to my wife, Hélène and my two wonderful children, Thomas and Lucas, for their continuous support.

Enjoy Thomas’s illustration… and the book!

../_images/illus-thomas.png

This work, including the code samples, is licensed under a Creative Commons BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.